Wireless Broadband Innovation Awards Launched

The Marketing Society and The Wireless LAN Event announce the launch of the Wireless Broadband Innovation Awards, a competition to recognise leadership, excellence and innovation in Wi-Fi, 3G/mobile data, WiMAX and wireless broadband.

Sponsored by Excilan and WeRoam the Wireless Broadband Awards are held in conjunction with The Wireless LAN Event. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Langham Hotel in London on 20 April 2005. Nominations can be made on-line at and will close on 21 February 2005.

The jury responsible for naming the winners of the award is made up of prominent industry names such as Kyong Yu, Wireless Broadband Alliance; Toni Stadelmann, Independent Roaming Community; Rick Chandler, BT Global Services; David Brunnen, The Communications Management Association; Magnus Melander BrainHeart Capital; Dan Jellinek, e-government Bulletin and Magnus McEwen-King, founder of Broadreach.

The Wireless Broadband Innovation Awards are awarded to:

Enterprise end-users (public sector and commercial) Wireless broadband industry (chips, networking vendors, management & security solutions, systems integrators, device suppliers, channel) Wireless broadband and mobile data service providers and network operators

Awards categories:

Best service provider Innovation in Wireless Security Management – sponsored by WeRoam Best enterprise deployment/project (commercial) Best enterprise deployment/project (government / health / education) Best enterprise Wi-Fi product Best public Wi-Fi project – sponsored by Excilan Best WiMAX / wireless broadband product Best VoIP product

Wireless Individual Achievement